Skip to Content

Press Play – Craig Smith Dow

September 20, 2017

PLAY>

I remember taking my first photograph. Not the precise date but the event was permanently etched in that place where etchings go to await recall.

I remember my dad’s silver and black Kodak Instamatic, looking through the viewfinder and seeing the shapes that were my family. Instinctually, I guess, I knew those shapes needed to be rearranged.

With the barrage of “hurry ups” from the shapes directed at an eight- or nine-year-old who was quite likely taking way too long, I pressed the shutter. I’ve never looked for that photograph, don’t think I’ve ever seen it or cared to. It was a disappointing click. A snapshot.

I don’t know if defining moments happen or they’re embellished over time, evolving into the film that now plays back as that memory, but defining it was. Is.

There was a shift in my perception that day. I took a picture and learned I needed to make images. It was the day I was burdened with a perpetual viewfinder.

FF>>

through Secondary education in New Brunswick where my exposure to visual art was limited to, well, ZERO. Not one class. (This is to the exclusion of the Jackson Pollock-like images we made in blood during soccer season. I didn’t know who he was then.) Perhaps the choice of remaining in a school with its pretentiously-academic bent was not ideal but awareness sometimes requires time to develop.

Wise enough to realize, if not in fact, that enrollment in university with no direction would be a waste of (list applicable nouns here), I enrolled in a little program called Katimavik. So while other undecideds did the Europe thing, got sucked into the flash of a bit of cash or worked their asses off to afford a future education, I was traveling across the country – living, working and learning with my band of misfits. And my camera.

Picture 1FF>>

through Post-Secondary education – Communication Arts. Specializing in photography, where the emphasis on journalism is prime, resulted in an incredible foundation in the mechanics of the tools, immediacy of the medium and the power of an image.

FF>>

declining a year of independent study in photography with the Craft College (NBCCD now) to work as a commercial photographer in Toronto for a decade, and most of another traveling back and forth on contracts.

<<REW

In conjunction with the discovery of photography as a creative outlet, serious self-education in art begins. Working in the commercial photography “system” in Toronto was an apprentice’s paradise. It was a land of shared knowledge. Nothing was secret. Any question, none too stupid, of how an image was made was explained with vim. Technique, composition, shaping light and colour – information was freely given and absorbed. Modified, expanded upon and further shared.

PAUSE II

At about year eight in commercial photography, the learning curve was flattening. Digital was coming to town. I worked with the first commercial digital camera (LEAF) testing in the city. Though maligned by many, the future was obvious. The need for in-camera skill would decline proportionally to the advances in digital.

And just look at us now.

PLAY>

limitations of photography become apparent. Alternative means of expression are explored. It was time to save money (and not buy a house), quit jobs, buy a truck, pack the tent and travel the Blue Highways throughout North America for six months.

Dawn breaks, city-life is busted, and big money has to wait.

As Pretty As It Gets, 2015

As Pretty As It Gets, 2015

FF>>

Over 20 years back in New Brunswick, making art full-time. Paint is the dominant medium. Meanwhile: Filling the debt hole with wages while gaining new skills. Post & Beam construction, cabinet-making, set design, prop making, event décor and read my CV at craigsmithdow.com

PAUSE II

So here we are, present day: Three decades of photography and two decades of painting with a variety of exhibitions and private sales. Thin on exposure: 2000 Marion McCain Exhibition, being the weightiest, is 17 years old.

PLAY>

Having avoided the necessity of self-promotion, grant applications and all the “office shit” my whole career, I was able to focus long enough to apply for an artsnb Career Development Grant.

The success of being awarded this grant afforded me the opportunity to participate in art residencies in Argentina and Brazil this past winter.

<<REW

Why Argentina and Brazil? As children, I think there are a myriad of thoughts and ideas that become permanently etched in our minds. For some, the reasons behind the idea are never apparent. Others, like my “Argentina” can be guessed at. I am going to blame Sergio Leone, Clint Eastwood and Spaghetti Westerns. Italy should bear its share but I didn’t know then what I know now! It was probably the filming, the deserted landscape, the romance of the ugly wandering life that set its hooks in me.

>>ASIDE<<

Twenty-five years ago, I had John Ford and all those cowboys to blame for my months of wanderings around New Mexico and Arizona. And while I’m laying blame: Ansel Adams had me hiking around with thirty pounds of large-format camera gear, a spot-meter and a suitcase full of film holders.

Hey man, slow down - Residencia Corazón

“Hey man, slow down” at Residencia Corazón in La Plata, Argentina

PLAY>

All politics aside. I love New Brunswick. I came back. I want to stay. However, some of the best here is also a hindrance to me. Isolation is a yin – yang (thang). Great for working time and space, but a killer when what you make – your style – is so “interesting.”

Some change was needed, a move, something. South America was it. It was an intense two-month work period and extremely productive.

It was the freshness of a new world in an old landscape: The beauty of being immersed in a place where the preservation of arts and culture is no concern. Because it is so intertwined with everyday life it can’t be separated. I said, “All politics aside.” I meant here. But of politics there, I say bluntly, “Now that shit is real.” Fodder.

+REC+

So in conclusion, I’ve determined I have to get out more. And I am. Stay tuned.

~ STOP ~

Craig Smith Dow
Metaphysical Aesthete

Craig Smith DowCraig Smith Dow, born in Newfoundland and bred in Ontario and New Brunswick, would not say he consciously thought about becoming an artist. However, the need to express the visions in his mind’s eye was something that could not be ignored. After his post-secondary education, he moved to Toronto in 1986 to work as a commercial photographer – even though Craig had no formal training in that particular field of photography. As the industry moved toward the digital age, Craig realized the challenges he enjoyed in his chosen career would be greatly minimized with automation. The magic and imagination of film would be gone, the fragile manipulation of light and angles finished. 

In 1994, a six-month tour of North America re-awakened his love for landscape photography but also illuminated the limitations of that medium. Upon his return to New Brunswick, Craig began his explorations into fine art painting. Through trial and error, self-study and forays into different media, he ultimately settled upon acrylic and oils as being the best to express his vision. Now, 20 years later, Craig has a number of exhibitions under his belt and several pieces – both photographs and paintings – in collections across North America, but is still learning to call himself an artist. He continues to explore the corners of his cranium, and strives to express his mind’s musings to his satisfaction.

You can follow Craig’s work on his website.

Skip to Content

Appuyez sur lecture – Craig Smith Dow

 

le 20 septembre 2017

(Cet article a été traduit de l’original en anglais).

LECTURE>

Je me souviens encore de ma première photo. Pas de la date précise, mais l’événement est gravé en permanence à l’endroit où les gravures attendent d’être rappelées.

Je me souviens de l’Instamatic noir et argenté de mon père, regardant à travers le viseur et distinguant les formes qui étaient ma famille. Instinctivement, j’imagine, je savais que ces formes devaient être réarrangées.

Après le déluge des « Dépêche toi! » lancés par ces formes contre un gamin de huit ou neuf ans qui prenait définitivement trop de temps, j’ai fini par appuyer sur le déclencheur. Je n’ai jamais cherché cette photographie, je ne pense pas l’avoir jamais vue ou même m’en être soucié. C’était un clic décevant. Un instantané.

J’ignore si les moments décisifs se produisent ou s’ils sont embellis avec le temps, devenant le film qui se joue désormais dans ma mémoire, mais il s’agissait (et il s’agit toujours) d’un moment décisif pour moi.

Il y a eu un changement dans ma perception ce jour-là. J’ai pris une photo, et j’ai appris que je devais faire des images. Ce fut le jour où je me suis retrouvé avec un viseur perpétuel.

AVANCE RAPIDE>>

vers l’enseignement secondaire au Nouveau-Brunswick, où mon exposition à l’art visuel s’est limitée à, eh bien, au néant absolu. (Pas un seul cours, à l’exception notable des images genre Jackson Pollock que nous réalisions en sang durant la saison de soccer. J’ignorais qui il était à l’époque.) Le choix de rester dans une école avec une visée prétentieusement académique n’était peut-être pas idéal, mais la prise de conscience nécessite parfois du temps pour se développer.

Assez sage pour réaliser que l’inscription à l’université sans aucune orientation serait un gaspillage de (énumérer ici tous les termes applicables), je me suis inscrit à un petit programme appelé Katimavik. Ainsi, alors que d’autres indécis faisaient le tour de l’Europe, dilapidaient le peu d’argent qu’ils possédaient ou travaillaient d’arrache-pied pour s’offrir des études supérieures, je voyageais à travers le pays – vivant, travaillant et apprenant avec mon groupe de marginaux. Et avec mon appareil photo.

AVANCE RAPIDE>>

Picture 1vers l’enseignement postsecondaire, en arts de la communication. Spécialisé en photographie, où l’accent mis sur le journalisme est primordial, bâtissant des bases solides concernant la mécanique des outils, l’immédiateté du médium et le pouvoir d’une image.

AVANCE RAPIDE>>

déclinant une année d’étude indépendante en photographie au Collège d’artisanat (aujourd’hui le Collège d’artisanat et de design du Nouveau-Brunswick) pour travailler comme photographe commercial à Toronto pendant une décennie, et voyager au gré des contrats signés durant la décennie suivante.

<<RETOUR RAPIDE

En conjonction avec la découverte de la photographie en tant qu’exutoire créatif débute l’auto-éducation sérieuse en art. Travailler dans le milieu de la photographie commerciale à Toronto était un véritable paradis pour apprenti. C’était une terre de savoir partagé. Rien n’était secret. Toute question, aucune n’étant stupide, sur la façon dont on crée une image était répondue avec engouement. La technique, la composition, la mise en forme de la lumière et la couleur – les informations dispensées étaient libres et absorbées. Puis révisées, approfondies et partagées de nouveau.

PAUSE II

Lors de ma huitième année comme photographe commercial, la courbe d’apprentissage s’était aplatie. Le digital entrait en scène. J’ai testé le premier appareil photo commercial numérique (LEAF) en ville. Bien que calomnié par beaucoup, l’avenir de cet appareil était évident. Le besoin de compétences concernant ce qui se passe à l’intérieur de l’appareil déclinerait proportionnellement avec les avances dans la technologie du numérique.

Et regardez où nous en sommes aujourd’hui.

LECTURE>

Les limites de la photographie deviennent évidentes. D’autres moyens d’expression sont explorés. Il était temps d’économiser de l’argent (et non d’acheter une maison), de quitter des emplois, d’acheter un camion, d’emballer la tente et de parcourir les autoroutes d’Amérique du Nord pendant six mois.

L’aube se lève, la vie citadine s’interrompt, et l’argent doit attendre.

As Pretty As It Gets, 2015

As Pretty As It Gets, 2015

AVANCE RAPIDE>>

Retour au Nouveau-Brunswick depuis plus de vingt ans, créant de l’art à plein temps. La peinture est le support dominant. Entretemps: combler le gouffre des dettes avec un salaire, tout en développant de nouvelles compétences. Construction de poteaux et de poutres, fabrication de meubles, aménagement, fabrication d’accessoires, décoration d’événements et lisez mon CV sur craigsmithdow.com

PAUSE II

Nous voici donc à l’heure actuelle: trois décennies de photographie et deux décennies de peinture avec une variété d’expositions et de ventes privées. Peu d’expositions: la plus importante, organisée à Marion McCain en 2000, a 17 ans.

LECTURE>

Ayant évité la nécessité de l’auto-promotion, des demandes de subvention et de toute la « merde de bureau » durant toute ma carrière, j’ai pu me concentrer assez longtemps pour déposer une demande de bourse de développement de carrière d’artsnb.

L’obtention de cette subvention m’a permis de participer à des résidences d’artistes en Argentine et au Brésil l’hiver dernier.

<<RETOUR RAPIDE

Pourquoi l’Argentine et le Brésil? Je pense que lorsque nous sommes enfants, il y a une myriade de pensées et d’idées qui sont définitivement gravées dans nos esprits. Parfois, les raisons derrière une idée ne sont jamais apparentes. Et parfois, comme pour mon « Argentine », ces raisons peuvent être devinées. Je vais donc blâmer Sergio Leone, Clint Eastwood et les westerns spaghettis. L’Italie devrait assumer sa part, mais j’ignorais à l’époque ce que je sais maintenant! Ce sont probablement la cinématographie, les paysages désertiques et le roman de la vie errante du truand qui se sont enracinés dans mon esprit.

>>APARTÉ<<

Il y a vingt-cinq ans, j’avais rendu John Ford et tous ces cowboys responsables de mes mois d’errance à travers le Nouveau-Mexique et l’Arizona. Et puisque je suis en train de blâmer à tout-va: Ansel Adams m’a fait faire de la randonnée avec trente livres de matériel photo grand format, un système de mesure sélective et une valise remplie de rouleaux de films.

Hey man, slow down - Residencia Corazón

« Hey man, slow down », Residencia Corazón à La Plata, Argentine

LECTURE>

En mettant de côté la politique, j’adore le Nouveau-Brunswick. J’y suis revenu. Je veux y rester. Cependant, certaines des meilleures choses ici sont aussi des obstacles. L’isolement, c’est yin-yang. Idéal pour le temps de travail et l’espace, mais meurtrier lorsque ce que vous faites – votre style – est tellement « intéressant ».

Un changement était nécessaire, un déplacement, quelque chose. L’Amérique du Sud était la réponse. Ce fut une période de deux mois de travail intense et extrêmement productive.

C’était la fraîcheur d’un nouveau monde dans un vieux paysage: la beauté d’être immergé dans un lieu où la préservation des arts et de la culture n’est pas une préoccupation. Car l’art est tellement entrelacé avec la vie quotidienne qu’il ne peut être mis à part. J’ai écrit: « en mettant de côté la politique ». Je voulais parler de la politique ici. Mais autant le dire franchement, là-bas, la politique, « C’est pas des farces. » Voilà matière à réflexion.

+ENREGISTREMENT+

Pour finir, j’ai figuré que j’ai besoin de sortir plus souvent. Et je le fais. Restez à l’écoute.

~ ARRÊT ~

Craig Smith Dow
Esthète métaphysique

Craig Smith Dow - BioCraig Smith Dow, né à Terre-Neuve et élevé en Ontario et au Nouveau-Brunswick, ne dirait pas qu’il a consciemment songé à devenir un artiste. Cependant, la nécessité d’exprimer sa vision du monde fut quelque chose qui ne pouvait être ignoré. Après ses études postsecondaires, il déménagea à Toronto en 1986 pour travailler comme photographe commercial – même si Craig n’avait pas de formation formelle dans ce domaine particulier de la photographie. Au fur et à mesure que l’industrie se dirigeait vers l’ère numérique, Craig réalisait que les défis rencontrés dans la carrière qu’il avait choisie seraient considérablement réduits avec l’automatisation. La magie et la fantaisie de la pellicule disparaîtraient, et la manipulation délicate de la lumière et des angles serait de l’histoire ancienne.

En 1994, une tournée de six mois en Amérique du Nord a réveillé son amour pour la photographie de paysage, mais a aussi mis en évidence les limites de ce support. À son retour au Nouveau-Brunswick, Craig a commencé ses recherches dans la peinture artistique. Par tâtonnements, à travers l’autoformation et les essais sur différents supports, il s’est finalement décidé que l’acrylique et les huiles étaient les meilleurs supports pour exprimer sa vision. Désormais, vingt ans plus tard, Craig a plusieurs expositions à son actif, ainsi que plusieurs œuvres – photographies et peintures – dans des collections en Amérique du Nord. Néanmoins, il apprend toujours à se désigner comme artiste. Il continue à explorer les moindres recoins de ses méninges, et s’efforce d’exprimer à sa guise les réflexions de son esprit.

Vous pouvez suivre le travail de Craig sur son site Internet.

 

Le blogue d’artsnb donne la parole aux artistes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Avez-vous reçu une subvention d’artsnb ? Avez-vous envie de partager votre expérience ? Alors contactez-nous sans plus attendre !