Skip to Content

Pillorikput Inuit: Inuktitut Arias for All Seasons

February 10, 2017

By Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay

I grew up on the West Coast of Newfoundland, and my formative years were enriched with family, music, books, and the majestic beauty of
‘The Rock.’ Words took me on journeys through time and around the world. My father quietly shared stories of his family and their life in Nunatsiavut, and my mother and her mother talked of our roots in Ireland. Hearing their words, spoken and sung, made me hungry to know more. I wanted to feel what it was like to make the first footprints in fresh snow in Labrador, and to move to the lilting songs of my Irish ancestors.

Concert at Katingavik Church

Concert at St. Andrews Church

Piano lessons, summer ukulele workshops, concert band, choral ensembles, voice lessons. Hours upon hours each week were devoted to learning and making music and I was fortunate to have amazing support from my family. I fell in love with classical music, especially the German lied of Schubert, arias from Mozart’s operas, Fauré’s dreamy chansons, and oratorio arias by Mendelssohn and Vivaldi.

I studied the lyrics, learning how to pronounce them properly in German, Italian, French, Latin. I wanted to know what every word meant. I dreamed of being a classical singer.

Although he had no formal music lessons, my father was a beautiful singer and played the guitar like a star. Every Christmas Eve, he sang his favorite carols to us in English, German, and Inuktitut, as he had learned them as a young boy in Labrador. He taught me to pray in Inuktitut. I can still picture the words in his little old bible, in which his family tree was written.

When people found out that I was Inuk, and a classical soprano, they would often say, ‘Oh wow! An Inuit opera singer! What does Inuit opera sound like? Do you throat sing?’ I have always been fascinated by throat singing and hope someday to explore this ancient tradition. I would patiently explain that there is no such thing as ‘Inuit opera,’ but that I was very proud to be recognized in the Aboriginal community as the first classical singer of Inuit descent. My roots, and my passion for classical music, did not seem to go together.

Almost 10 years ago, I learned of the fascinating work of Dr. Tom Gordon, a musicologist and pianist, and at that time, the Director of the School of Music at Memorial University of Newfoundland. He spent over a decade researching hundreds of manuscripts of classical sacred music that Moravian missionaries brought to the coast of Labrador in the 18th century. Not only was this music translated into Inuktitut, but it was also adapted by the Inuit over time. I remember my first communication with Dr. Gordon. He sent me a copy of one of the soprano solo arias from Handel’s famous oratorio, The Messiah, and I was amazed to see the Inuktitut text. Now THIS was the music for me! I asked Dr. Gordon if any of this wonderful archival music had ever been recorded and from that conversation, many unique opportunities have come my way. I am fortunate to have realized one of dreams, in recording the CD Pillorikput Inuit: Inuktitut Arias for All Seasons.

Concert at Katingavik Church - Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay at front left

Concert at St. Andrews Church – Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay at front left

Thanks to a grant from artsnb, I travelled to Newfoundland at the end of 2105 and the recording project took place in St. John’s in January 2015. In the fall of that year, the album was launched with a tour of Nunatsiavut, once again, with thanks in part to artsnb. Dr. Gordon played the organ, and well-known tenor Karrie Obed from Nain joined us in several duets that we included on the cd. He is respected as a tradition-bearer at the forefront of the musical life of Inuit Labrador. Sharing this beautiful, one-of-a-kind music in the humble Moravian churches of Labrador, was a great privilege, and life-changing for me. On my travels, I reconnected with family that I had not seen in over 2 decades, and I also met some family members for the very first time. I felt at home, as if all the pieces of the puzzle that is my life finally fit.

Pillorikput Inuit was the first classical album to be nominated for an East Coast Music Award in the Aboriginal Artist category in 2016. What a thrill!

This past October, another historical event took place – the biennial Inuit Studies Conference, co-hosted by MUN and the Nunatsiavut Government. Inuit from around the globe took over St. John’s and it was beyond exciting. Inuit from all walks of life came together, gave presentations, participated in panel discussions and explored issues such as language, health, education, the environment, to name a few. At the same time, the katingavik inuit arts festival celebrated Inuit creativity in music, visual arts and film. artsnb was instrumental in taking me once again to the right place at the right time. I performed a number of the Moravian arias and duets with Karrie Obed and Dr. Gordon, and was accompanied by MUN’s chamber choir and orchestra! The concert was held at The Kirk, St. Andrews Presbyterian Church in beautiful downtown St. John’s. The well-respected Nain Brass Band performed on the program as well. The acoustics were incredible, and it was an honor to perform for a full audience, including Natan Obed, President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, as well as Maatalii Okalik, President of the National Inuit Youth Council.

NOW when people ask me about being Inuk and a classical singer, I am excited to explain that being from Nunatsiavut, this is not unnatural! The chance to share this wonderful music and its history far and wide brings me delight and pride like nothing else. My deep thanks to artsnb for helping me make these career dreams come true.

Soprano Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay is from Newfoundland & Labrador. She studied music and the arts at Acadia University and Concordia University. She has also studied privately with some of Canada’s top voice teachers. Deantha has performed on stages throughout Canada and abroad. Her most recent performance was in St. John’s, Newfoundland, in a concert of sacred Moravian Inuktitut arias, accompanied by MUN chamber choir and orchestra. This concert was part of the katingavik inuit arts festival, during the international Inuit Studies Conference in October, 2016. Deantha composed a song in Inuktitut and English for the 2016 Labrador Winter Games. This original composition is entitled ‘AVANI’ which means ‘up North.’ She performed the song with Inuit drum dancers and throat singers for a full stadium including dignitaries from throughout Newfoundland and Labrador who gave the performance a standing ovation. “Pillorikput Inuit: Inuktitut Arias for All Seasons” is a CD featuring Deantha as the soprano soloist. The album was launched in the fall of 2015, with a performance tour of Nunatsiavut. It was nominated for a 2016 East Coast Music Award, in the Aboriginal Artist category, the first time a classical album has been nominated in this category. Solo engagements throughout New Brunswick in the past few years include Mozart’s ‘Requiem,’ Bach’s Christmas Oratorio’ and Handel’s ‘Messiah’ with the Fredericton Choral Society & Chamber Orchestra, Handel’s ‘Messiah’ with the Symphony Chorus & Chamber Orchestra at Trinity Church in Saint John, Rossini’s ‘Petite Messe Solennelle’ and Schubert’s ‘Mass in B-Flat Major’ with Colla Voce at Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church in Rothesay. Deantha was the guest soloist at Rothesay’s St. Paul’s Anglican Church 150th anniversary Evensong service at which the Honourable Graydon Nicholas, Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick was a guest speaker. Her next performance will be as a soloist in Bach’s ‘Mass in B minor’ with Colla Voce in Rothesay. As well as teaching music at independent elementary school Touchstone Academy and working as an Aboriginal Student Advisor at New Brunswick Community College, Deantha has a great love of performing. She shares this passion with a large studio of private voice students.

Skip to Content

Pillorikput Inuit: Inuktitut Arias for All Seasons – Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay

le 10 février 2017

J’ai grandi sur la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve, et mes années de formation se sont enrichies de la famille, de la musique, des livres et de la beauté majestueuse du « Rocher ». Les mots m’ont emmené dans des voyages à travers le temps et le monde. Mon père partageait tranquillement des histoires de sa famille et de sa vie au Nunatsiavut, et ma mère ainsi que sa propre mère nous parlaient de nos racines irlandaises. En entendant leurs paroles, prononcées ou chantées, j’avais envie d’en savoir plus. Je voulais moi aussi éprouver les sensations des premières empreintes de neige fraîche au Labrador, et bouger au son des chansons mélodieuses de mes ancêtres irlandais.

Concert à l'église Katingavik

Concert à l’église St. Andrew

Cours de piano, ateliers d’été d’ukulélé, orchestre d’harmonie, chorales, cours de chant… Chaque semaine, des heures et des heures étaient consacrées à l’apprentissage et à la pratique de la musique, et j’étais chanceuse d’avoir un soutien extraordinaire de la part de ma famille. Je suis tombé amoureuse de la musique classique, en particulier des lieds germaniques de Schubert, des arias des opéras de Mozart, des mélodies des chansons de Fauré, et des mouvements d’oratorio de Mendelssohn et de Vivaldi.

J’ai étudié les paroles, apprenant à les prononcer correctement en allemand, italien, français ou latin. Je voulais savoir ce que chaque mot signifiait. Je rêvais de devenir chanteuse classique.

Bien qu’il n’ait jamais reçu de cours de musique de manière formelle, mon père était un bon chanteur et jouait de la guitare comme une star. À chaque veillée de Noël, il nous chantait ses cantiques préférés en anglais, en allemand et en inuktitut, tels qu’il les avait appris lorsqu’il était enfant au Labrador. Il m’a appris à prier en inuktitut. Je visualise encore les mots écrits dans sa vieille petite bible, dans laquelle son arbre généalogique était dessiné.

Quand les gens découvraient que j’étais Inuk et soprano classique, ils disaient souvent, « Oh wow! Une chanteuse d’opéra inuit! À quoi ressemble l’opéra inuit? Faites-vous du chant de gorge? » J’ai toujours été fascinée par le chant de gorge, et j’espère pouvoir un jour explorer cette ancienne tradition. J’expliquais patiemment qu’il n’existe pas d’opéra inuit, mais que j’étais très fière d’être reconnue au sein de la communauté autochtone comme la première chanteuse classique de descendance inuite. Mais mes racines et ma passion pour la musique classique ne semblaient pas aller ensemble.

Il y a presque dix ans, j’ai découvert le travail fascinant du Dr. Tom Gordon, musicologue et pianiste, et à l’époque directeur de l’École de musique de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve. Il a passé plus d’une décennie à étudier des centaines de manuscrits de musique sacrée classique que les missionnaires moraves avaient apportés sur la côte du Labrador au 18ème siècle. Non seulement cette musique avait été traduite en inuktitut, mais elle avait également été adaptée par les Inuits au fil du temps. Je me souviens de mes premiers échanges avec le Dr. Gordon. Il m’avait envoyé une copie de l’un des soli de soprano du célèbre oratorio d’Haendel, Le Messie, et j’ai été stupéfaite de voir des paroles en inuktitut. Il s’agissait à n’en pas douter d’une musique pour moi! J’ai demandé au Dr. Gordon si une partie de cette merveilleuse musique archivée avait été enregistrée, et de cette conversation, de nombreuses occasions uniques m’ont été proposées. J’ai ainsi eu la chance d’avoir pu réaliser un de mes rêves, en enregistrant le disque Pillorikput Inuit: Inuktitut Arias for All Seasons.

Concert à l'église Katingavik - Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay à l'avant gauche

Concert à l’église St. Andrew – Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay à l’avant gauche

Grâce à une subvention d’artsnb, je me suis rendue à Terre-Neuve pour le projet d’enregistrement qui a eu lieu à St. John’s en janvier 2015. À l’automne de cette même année, l’album a été lancé avec une tournée à travers le Nunatsiavut, une fois encore avec l’aide d’artsnb. Le Dr. Gordon a joué de l’orgue, et le célèbre ténor Narrie Obed, originaire de Nain, s’est joint à nous pour plusieurs duos que nous avons inclus sur le disque. Il est reconnu comme un porteur de tradition à l’avant-garde de la vie musicale du Labrador Inuit. Ce fut un immense privilège que de partager avec lui cette belle musique unique dans les humbles églises moraves du Labrador. Ce fut aussi pour moi un véritable changement de vie. Lors de mes voyages, je me suis reconnectée avec ma famille que je n’avais pas revue depuis plus de deux décennies, et j’ai aussi rencontré des membres de ma famille pour la toute première fois. Je me suis sentie chez moi, comme si toutes les pièces du puzzle qui était ma vie s’assemblaient enfin.

Pillorikput Inuit a été le premier album classique à être nominé aux East Coast Music Awards de 2016 dans la catégorie des artistes autochtones. Quel bonheur!

En octobre dernier, un autre événement historique a eu lieu – la Conférence biennale sur les études inuites, co-organisée par l’UMTN et le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut. Les Inuits du monde entier se sont emparés de St. John’s pendant la durée de l’événement, et ce fut passionnant ! Des Inuits de tous horizons se sont réunis, ont donné des présentations, ont participé à des discussions de groupe et ont travaillé sur des questions relatives à la langue, la santé, l’éducation, l’environnement, pour ne citer que quelques thèmes. En parallèle, le Katingavik Inuit Arts Festival a célébré la créativité inuite dans les domaines de la musique, des arts visuels et du cinéma. artsnb a joué un rôle déterminant pour que je sois à nouveau au bon endroit au bon moment. J’ai réalisé un certain nombre d’arias et quelques duos avec Karrie Obed. Le Dr. Gordon nous a une fois de plus accompagnés à l’orgue, ainsi que le chœur de chambre et l’orchestre de l’UMTN.

Le concert de musique morave du Nunatsiavut a été tenu au Kirk, l’église presbytérienne de St. Andrew située dans le magnifique centre-ville de St. John’s. L’orchestre de Nain a également participé à ce concert. L’acoustique était incroyable, et ce fut un honneur que de se produire devant un auditoire complet, incluant Natan Obed, président de l’Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, ainsi que Maatalii Okalik, présidente du Conseil national des jeunes Inuits.

Maintenant, lorsque les gens me questionnent à propos d’être Inuk et chanteuse classique, je suis ravie d’expliquer qu’en étant originaire du Nunatsiavut, ce n’est pas anormal! La chance de partager cette merveilleuse musique et son histoire à travers le monde m’apporte un plaisir et une fierté à nuls autres pareils. Merci à artsnb pour m’avoir aidé à réaliser ces rêves professionnels.

La soprano Deantha Edmunds-Ramsay est originaire de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Elle a étudié la musique et les arts à l’Université Acadia et à l’Université Concordia. Elle a également étudié en privé avec quelques-uns des meilleurs professeurs de voix au Canada. Deantha s’est produite sur des scènes à travers le Canada et à l’étranger. Son interprétation la plus récente a eu lieu à St. John’s, Terre-Neuve, dans un concert d’arias sacrés moraves en langue inuktitut, où elle fut accompagnée du choeur de chambre et de l’orchestre de l’UMTN. Ce concert faisait partie du Katingavik Inuit Arts Festival, tenu lors de la Conférence biennale sur les études inuites en octobre 2016. Deantha a composé une chanson en inuktitut et en anglais pour les Jeux d’Hiver du Labrador de 2016. Cette composition originale est intitulée « AVANI », ce qui signifie « vers le Nord ». Elle a interprété la chanson avec des danseurs de tambours inuits et des chanteurs de gorge devant un stade complet, y compris des dignitaires de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador qui lui ont fait une véritable ovation. « Pillorikput Inuit: Inuktitut Arias for All Seasons » est un disque mettant en vedette Deantha comme soprano soliste. L’album fut lancé à l’automne 2015, avec une tournée à travers la région du Nunatsiavut. Il a été nomimé aux East Coast Music Awards de 2016, dans la catégorie des artistes autochtones. Ce fut la première fois qu’un album classique avait été nominé dans cette catégorie. Ses prestations de soliste au sein du Nouveau-Brunswick ces dernières années incluent le Requiem de Mozart, l’Oratorio de Noël de Bach et le Messie de Haendel avec la chorale et l’orchestre de chambre de Fredericton, le Messie de Haendel avec le chœur symphonique et l’orchestre de chambre de Trinity Church à Saint John, la Petite Messe Solennelle de Rossini et la Messe en mi bémol majeur de Schubert avec Colla Voce à l’église de Notre Dame du Perpétuel Secours de Rothesay. Deantha fut la soliste invitée au 150ème anniversaire de l’église anglicane St-Paul de Rothesay, se produisant pour un service évangélique auquel l’honorable Graydon Nicholas, lieutenant-gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, prit la parole. Sa prochaine performance en tant que soliste sera dans la Messe en si mineur de Bach avec Colla Voce à Rothesay. En plus d’enseigner la musique à l’école élémentaire Touchstone Academy et de travailler comme conseiller pour les étudiants autochtones au Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, Deantha adore chanter. Elle partage cette passion avec un large auditoire d’étudiants en chant.