Skip to Content

The Beautifully Drowned – Jon Dewar

 

April 20, 2017

I was a late bloomer to film. For a long time I told myself I was just a film fan. That I only wanted to write about and critique films. That I had no desire to direct. All of this was a defense mechanism to shield my own intimidation of the medium. It wasn’t until I began studying film at the University of New Brunswick that I was able to move past this. My film courses opened me up to a new world of cinema beyond the blockbusters and multiplexes. I saw film as an expression of one’s voice rather than a means of entertainment. I learned early on that you can’t make films for other people. You have to make the film you want. This is a sentiment I’ve tried to carry from my first film, Pesticide, to my most recent, The Beautifully Drowned.

The Beautifully Drowned

When R.W. Gray first approached me with his book of short stories, Entropic, I was immediately drawn to The Beautiful Drowned. The coastal landscapes, haunting imagery, and mysterious characters all spoke to my aesthetic palate. The visual interpretation came naturally to me. I grew up in Quispamsis and spent a lot of time as a child wandering the coastlines of Saint John and St. Martins. I’d make up stories in my head about all those lost at sea, the ghosts that creep along the sand and shells, and what lies beyond the endlessness of the ocean horizon. These memories became the backdrop for the film. This felt like the story I’d wanted to find; the story I’d been waiting to tell.

When I told R.W. Gray that this was the story I wanted to adapt he jokingly said it was the only one in the collection that was unfilmable. In a lot of ways he was right. Bringing this story to the screen, and fusing it with my experiences of wandering the east coast, would require making several changes. To separate the short story and film, when I began the initial draft, I made the first in a number of deviations: I changed the title from The Beautiful Drowned to The Beautifully Drowned.

The Beautifully Drowned is an eerie Maritime fairy tale about a woman, Lilly, who longs for the day her husband, Marcus, will drown at sea. It became clear early on that this film was going to heavily rely on the lead actors as much as it was the setting. For Lilly, I wanted someone who could carry the character through stages of being bound and isolated, resentful and disheveled, and, finally, transformed and free. We had to empathize with her anguish and embrace the relief she finds at the end. For Marcus, I was in search for someone could embody a broken sense of masculinity; a character that feels he must present an image of fearlessness but was begging for help on the inside. Our film production company, Frictive Pictures, ran a vigorous casting call and audition process. Ariana Marquis and Jesse LaPointe were able to fully exemplify these two characters.

Jesse LaPointe, Ariana Marquis

L-R: Jesse LaPointe, Ariana Marquis

There is this theory in the filmmaking world that you are either a technical director or an acting director. While I don’t endorse this confining binary, I learned on this project that I am more drawn to creating an environment that is responsive to the performances than following a preplanned visual outline. I learned that, despite how much planning you put into a scene, you will never truly know how to shoot it until you’re in the space with the crew, actors, and cinematographer and see what they bring to it. This not only allowed for a more organic and freeing process, but created scenes that were far more dynamic and interesting than anything that could have been planned ahead of time. I have a lot to thank Ariana, Jesse, and cinematographer Matt Rogers for this approach.

Representing New Brunswick has always been an important component of my filmmaking career. In my 2013 short film Mirage I wanted to capture the humidity of our summers. I wanted my 2014 short film Hypothermia to be reflective of our harsh, unforgiving, and beautiful winters. And I wanted The Beautifully Drowned to embody perhaps our finest attraction: the coast. We are very lucky in New Brunswick to have the landscapes that we do and that we experience every season to its fullest potential. Not many other places can claim that. I truly believe that we have unique stories to tell here in New Brunswick and it’s important to me that my films reflect that.

The Beautifully Drowned - Picture #1

L-R: Ariana Marquis, Jesse LaPointe

When you tell people you are making an otherworldly period piece of a seaside fishing village that’s going to require putting bodies in the Atlantic ocean, a strange look crosses their face followed by the quintessential question: how much is that going to cost? There was no doubt that this would be an expensive venture and it never would have been possible without the endorsement and financial support of artsnb and the New Brunswick Filmmakers’ Co-operative. We are also indebted to Jeff McCarthy, who gave us full access to shoot at the King’s Landing Historical Settlement, and the people of St. Martins, who helped us immensely in finding shooting locations and accommodations for the cast and crew.

The Creation C grant from artsnb and Short Film Venture grant from the NB Film Co-op not only gave us the financial means to bring the film to life, but also the opportunity to sign on a larger cast and crew than we had previously worked with. This experience fostered a number of new creative collaborations, many of which we wish to continue developing in the future. artsnb also granted The Beautifully Drowned a Career Development grant to attend the Tampa Bay Underground Film Festival. Attending this festival gave me the opportunity to network with other filmmakers, festival organizers, industry specialists, and distributors. The film was awarded Best Short Film and Best Cinematography at the event and it was a special moment to accept these awards in person. Lastly, artsnb has also granted my next short film, titled The Wonderful Future, a Creation B grant. My film career owes a lot to artsnb and the NB Film Co-op, and I am forever grateful for their support. I can only hope that my films make them proud.

Jon Dewar is a filmmaker from Fredericton, New Brunswick. He graduated with a BA and BEd from the University of New Brunswick, and has been working in the film industry since 2011. His latest film, The Beautifully Drowned was officially complete in October of 2016. Since then, it has screened at a number of festivals in North America and picked up a few awards and nominations along the way. At the Silver Wave Film Festival the film won Best Short Film, Best Actress, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, and the Audience Choice Award and was nominated for Best Art Direction and Best Editing. At the Tampa Bay Underground Film Festival the film received Best Short Film and Best Cinematography and was nominated for Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Director, and Best Screenplay. The film screened at the Short Sweet Film Festival in Cleveland, Ohio and received an Honorable Mention in Best Fiction. As of April 2017, the film has also been accepted into the Monadnock International Film Festival in Keene, New Hampshire, the Beverly Hills Film Festival in California, and the Emerge Film Festival of Maine where it is nominated for Best Short Film. The film was funded by the artsnb Creation C grant and the New Brunswick Filmmakers’ Co-operative Short Film Venture grant.

Skip to Content

The Beautifully Drowned

le 20 avril, 2017

Par Jon Dewar

J’ai démarré tardivement dans le cinéma. Pendant longtemps, je me suis dit que j’étais uniquement un cinéphile. Que je voulais seulement écrire des critiques de films. Je n’avais aucun désir de réaliser quoi que ce soit. Il s’agissait d’un mécanisme de défense pour masquer ma propre intimidation du média. Ce n’est que lorsque j’ai commencé à étudier le cinéma à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick que j’ai pu surmonter mes peurs. Mes cours m’ont ouvert les yeux sur un nouveau visage du cinéma, au-delà de celui des superproductions et des multiplexes. J’ai vu le cinéma comme un moyen d’expression, plutôt qu’un moyen de divertissement. Je me suis rapidement rendu compte que l’on ne peut pas tourner des films pour d’autres personnes. Il faut faire le film que l’on veut. J’ai essayé de porter ce sentiment depuis mon premier film, Pesticide, jusqu’au plus récent, The Beautifully Drowned.

The Beautifully Drowned

Quand R.W. Grey m’a abordé avec son livre de nouvelles, Entropic, j’ai été immédiatement attiré par The Beautiful Drowned. Les paysages côtiers, l’imagerie envoûtante et les personnages mystérieux ont éveillé mon sens esthétique. L’interprétation visuelle m’est venue naturellement. J’ai grandi à Quispamsis, et j’ai passé beaucoup de temps quand j’étais plus jeune à flâner sur les côtes de Saint-Jean et Saint-Martins. J’inventais des histoires sur ceux perdus en mer, sur les fantômes qui se faufilent sur le sable et les coquillages, et sur ce qui se trouve au-delà de la ligne d’horizon sur l’océan. Ces souvenirs devinrent la toile de fond du film. C’était l’histoire que je voulais trouver; l’histoire que j’attendais de raconter depuis toutes ces années.

Lorsque j’ai dit à R.W. Gray qu’il s’agissait de l’histoire que je voulais adapter, il me répondit en plaisantant que c’était la seule nouvelle qui était infilmable. À bien des égards, il avait raison. Adapter cette histoire à l’écran, et la fusionner avec mes promenades sur la côte, nécessitait de faire plusieurs changements. Pour séparer la nouvelle du film, j’ai décidé d’effectuer plusieurs déviations lors de la première ébauche: j’ai changé le titre The Beautiful Drowned pour The Beautifully Drowned.

The Beautifully Drowned est un conte mystérieux des Maritimes à propos d’une femme, Lilly, qui attend le jour où son mari, Marcus, disparaîtra en mer. D’emblée, il est apparu clairement que ce film s’appuierait fortement sur ses acteurs principaux, autant que sur le décor. Pour Lilly, je voulais quelqu’un qui puisse mener le personnage à travers les étapes d’attachement et d’isolement, d’amertume et de négligence, puis finalement de transformation et de liberté. Il fallait pouvoir éprouver de l’empathie pour sa détresse et pour le soulagement qu’elle finit par ressentir. Pour Marcus, j’étais à la recherche de quelqu’un capable d’incarner un sentiment brisé de la masculinité; un personnage qui prend conscience qu’il doit présenter une image d’intrépidité, mais qui intérieurement crie à l’aide. Notre société de production cinématographique, Frictive Pictures, a organisé un casting et des auditions vigoureuses. Ariana Marquis et Jesse LaPointe ont pu incarner parfaitement ces deux personnages.

Jesse LaPointe, Ariana Marquis

De gauche à droite: Jesse LaPointe, Ariana Marquis

Une théorie court dans le monde du cinéma, selon laquelle vous êtes soit un directeur technique, soit un directeur intérimaire. Bien que je n’adhère pas à ce type de raisonnement binaire, j’ai appris avec ce projet que je suis plus attiré par la création d’un environnement qui est adapté aux performances que de suivre un schéma visuel pré-planifié. J’ai appris que, quel que soit le degré de planification que vous avez pour une scène, vous ne saurez jamais vraiment comment la tourner jusqu’à ce que vous soyez sur place avec l’équipe, les acteurs et le cinéaste, et voir ce qu’ils apportent. Le tournage s’est révélé plus organique et libre de cette manière, et j’ai eu la possibilité de créer des scènes beaucoup plus dynamiques et intéressantes que tout ce qui aurait pu être planifié à l’avance. Je remercie énormément Ariana, Jesse et le cinéaste Matt Rogers pour cette approche.

Représenter le Nouveau-Brunswick a toujours été un élément important de ma carrière cinématographique. Dans mon court métrage Mirage, tourné en 2013, je voulais capturer l’humidité de nos étés. L’année suivante, j’ai voulu que mon court-métrage Hypothermia reflète nos hivers rigoureux, hostiles et magnifiques. Et j’ai voulu que The Beautifully Drowned incarne notre plus belle attraction: la côte. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, nous sommes chanceux d’avoir ces paysages qui nous permettent de vivre le plein potentiel de chaque saison. Peu d’autres endroits peuvent prétendre à cela. Je crois sincèrement que nous avons des histoires uniques à raconter ici, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et qu’il est important pour moi de refléter cela dans mes films.

The Beautifully Drowned - Picture #1

De gauche à droite: Ariana Marquis, Jesse LaPointe

Lorsque vous expliquez que vous êtes sur le point de tourner un film d’époque dans un village de pêche côtier et qui nécessitera de placer des corps dans l’océan Atlantique, un regard étrange croise le visage de vos interlocuteurs, suivi de la question typique: combien cela coûtera-t-il? Il ne faisait aucun doute qu’il s’agissait d’une entreprise coûteuse, qui n’aurait jamais été possible de mener à terme sans le soutien et l’appui financier d’artsnb et celui de la Coopérative des cinéastes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Nous sommes également redevables à Jeff McCarthy, qui nous a donnés un accès complet pour tourner au Village historique de Kings Landing, ainsi qu’aux habitants de Saint-Martins, qui nous ont beaucoup aidés à trouver des lieux de tournage et des hébergements pour toute l’équipe du film.

La subvention de Création de catégorie C d’artsnb et le programme d’aide au court-métrage de la Coopérative des cinéastes du Nouveau-Brunswick nous a non seulement fournis les moyens financiers pour donner vie au film, mais aussi la possibilité d’obtenir une distribution et une équipe plus importante que précédemment. Cette expérience a stimulé un certain nombre de nouvelles collaborations créatives, beaucoup d’entre elles sont d’ailleurs amenées à être développées dans le futur. artsnb a également accordé à The Beautifully Drowned une subvention de développement de carrière pour assister au Festival de films underground de Tampa Bay. Participer à ce festival m’a donné l’opportunité de me mettre en relation avec d’autres cinéastes, organisateurs de festivals, spécialistes de l’industrie et distributeurs. Le film a obtenu le Prix du meilleur court-métrage, et celui de la meilleure photographie. Être capable d’accepter ces prix en personne fut un moment privilégié. Enfin, artsnb a également accordé une subvention de Création de catégorie B pour mon prochain court métrage, intitulé The Wonderful Future. Ma carrière cinématographique doit beaucoup à artsnb et à la Coopérative des cinéastes du Nouveau-Brunswick, et je serai toujours reconnaissant pour leur soutien. J’espère seulement que mes films les rendent fiers.

Jon Dewar est un réalisateur originaire de Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est diplômé de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick avec un baccalauréat en arts et en éducation, et travaille dans l’industrie cinématographique depuis 2011. Son dernier film, The Beautifully Drowned, a été officiellement complété en octobre 2016. Depuis, il a été projeté à un certain nombre de festivals en Amérique du Nord et a remporté quelques récompenses et nominations en cours de route. Au Festival du film Silver Wave, le film a remporté le prix du meilleur court-métrage, de la meilleure actrice, du meilleur scénario, de la meilleure photographie et prix du public; il a été également en compétition pour la meilleure direction artistique et le meilleur montage. Au Festival de films underground de Tampa Bay, le film a reçu le prix du meilleur court-métrage, de la meilleure photographie, et a été en compétition pour le prix de la meilleure actrice, meilleur acteur de soutien, meilleur réalisateur et meilleur scénario. Le film a été projeté au Short Sweet Film Festival à Cleveland, en Ohio, et a reçu une mention honorable pour la meilleure fiction. En avril 2017, le film a également été accepté dans au Festival international du film de Monadnock à Keene, au New Hampshire, au Festival du film de Beverly Hills en Californie, et à l’Emerge Film Festival du Maine où il est en compétition pour le prix du meilleur court-métrage. Ce film a bénéficié de la subvention de Création de catégorie C d’artsnb et du programme d’aide au court-métrage de la Coopérative des cinéastes du Nouveau-Brunswick.