Skip to Content

Mediation – Anika Lirette

 

August 15, 2018

Mediation – Anika Lirette(This article has been translated from the original in French).

We are evolving beings, and everything around us is constantly changing. I think artists have a duty to soften this change for humanity, because it is inevitable. I am passionate about cinema and theatre because of the freedom of expression and the possible perspectives; everything depends on the outlook.

Performing is my passion. When I was younger, I wrote parts for myself in both English and French. I am a visionary, and I am grateful for this trait; it is a hidden strength for the event industry, theatre and cinema. I am a traveler at heart who needs to venture into uncharted territory as much as to get back home and relax. Being Acadian means understanding the situation of a minority maintaining a link to the whole world through the diaspora. That means we get to see the big picture while constantly living with community realities.

Despite everything, life has often led me to situations where my art could act as mediation. I will never stop working on projects or collaborating; these are the projects that enrich me and make me grow. My artist’s mantra is to respond to a need, to gather so we can see each other better, and to muzzle ignorance. My projects often relate to uncovering the unknown, either by telling stories on the screen, on the stage or in public places. It is my duty as an artist to raise awareness and balance perspectives, so we can better understand the other.

We are living in an era that forces us to change our behavior. We cannot live the same way as we live in the long term anymore, and it is time to accept it. The Earth does not belong to us, we belong to the Earth. This basic Indigenous philosophy resonates with my Acadian spirit because we are not defined by a piece of land. We are an inclusive, living, collective spirit that I like to define as an ongoing mediation. Artists have a duty to open new opportunities, to rally positive forces and to overcome boundaries and barriers.

My intuitions are my points of reference. My emotions are my creative impulses. My encounters are my inspirations. My visions are my line of sight and my body is my work tool.

It was my journeys that opened my eyes. Authentic experiences make me grow as an artist to see the world better, and to better understand the stories that deserve to be told. I like to confront my Sagittarius strength to go through paths that have never been trodden before, or to reinvigorate those that have been travelled.

Unity is strength – let’s use our gifts to help bring people closer, let’s be as efficient as a health care practitioner or a paramedic. Let’s create social cohesion to get back to basics. We have great planetary changes on our doorstep. Artists have always been spokespeople of hope in tough times.

We are creators. If you allow yourself to dream, everything is possible.

 

Anika Lirette - BioAnika Lirette is a bilingual theatre and film artist, an artistic director, a project creator and a facilitator living in Acadie. She has performed in theatres throughout Acadie, Louisiana, Maine, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Quebec and Germany. She also starred in Le Clan, a TV series produced by Radio-Canada. Anika manages the artistic direction, the writing and the staging of new bilingual stories at the Grand-Pré National Historic Site. She has been co-directing Le Théâtre Alacenne since 2003. She is a young ambassador for the francophonie des Amériques and as such has traveled to New York, Louisiana, Maine and Costa Rica several times. She has lived abroad, more specifically in Eastern Europe, and is passionate about stories from around the world.

Link to the Théâtre Alacenne and Experience Grand-Pré.

The artsnb blog gives a voice to New Brunswick artists. Have you received a grant from artsnb? Are you interested in sharing your artistic experience? Then please contact us now!

Skip to Content

Médiation – Anika Lirette

 

le 15 août 2018

Médiation – Anika Lirette

Nous sommes des êtres en évolution et tout se transforme continuellement. Je pense que les artistes ont un devoir d’adoucir le changement pour l’humanité, car c’est inévitable. Ce qui me passionne envers le cinéma et le théâtre ce sont la liberté d’expression et les perspectives possibles, tout dépend du regard.

Jouer est ma passion. Je m’écrivais des rôles à bas âge autant en anglais qu’en français. Je suis visionnaire et j’ai de la gratitude pour cette qualité, c’est une force insoupçonnable pour l’événementiel, le théâtre et le cinéma. Je suis une voyageuse dans l’âme qui a besoin d’aller à la rencontre de l’inconnu avec autant un besoin de retrouver son nid pour se ressourcer. Être acadienne, c’est comprendre la situation de minorité avec un lien au monde entier par l’entremise de la diaspora. Ce qui veut dire qu’on voit le monde grand tout en vivant continuellement des réalités communautaires.

La vie m’a souvent amenée, malgré moi, dans des positions où mon art pouvait servir de médiation. Je n’arrêterai jamais de pondre des projets ou de collaborer, ce sont les projets qui me nourrissent et qui me font grandir. Mon mantra d’artiste est celui de répondre à un besoin, rassembler pour mieux se voir et celui de brimer l’ignorance. Mes projets ont souvent un rapport à dévoiler l’inconnu soit par l’art de raconter des histoires à l’écran, sur les planches de théâtre ou dans des lieux publics. C’est mon devoir d’artiste de sensibiliser et d’équilibrer les regards pour mieux comprendre l’autre.

Nous vivons une ère qui nous forcera à changer de comportement. Nous ne pouvons plus vivre comme l’on vit à long terme, il est temps qu’on l’accepte. La Terre ne nous appartient pas, nous appartenons à la Terre. Cette philosophie de base des premières nations résonne avec mon esprit acadien car on ne s’identifie pas à un morceau de territoire. Nous sommes un esprit collectif vivant inclusif que j’aime de définir comme la médiation continuelle. Les artistes ont le devoir d’ouvrir les chemins nouveaux, de rallier les forces positives et de surmonter les limites et les barrières.

Mes intuitions sont mes points de repère. Mes émotions sont mes élans créatifs. Mes rencontres sont mes inspirations. Mes visions sont ma ligne de mire et mon corps est mon outil de travail.

Ce sont mes voyages qui m’ont ouvert les yeux. Les expériences authentiques m’auront fait grandir en tant qu’artiste pour mieux voir le monde et mieux comprendre les histoires qui méritent d’être racontée. J’aime de me confronter à ma force de sagittaire pour combattre des sentiers non battus ou pour donner souffle à ceux qui les auront endigués.

L’union fait la force – utilisons nos dons pour contribuer à faire avancer les autres, soyons autant efficace qu’un praticien de la santé ou un ambulancier. Créons de la cohésion sociale pour revenir à la base. Nous avons des grands changements planétaires qui s’annoncent à nos portes. Les artistes ont été des porte-paroles d’espoir lors des situations de crises qui déstabilisent.

Nous sommes des créateurs. Tout est possible si on se permet de rêver.

 

Anika Lirette - BioAnika Lirette est une artiste bilingue de théâtre et de cinéma, une directrice artistique, une créatrice de projets et une animatrice en Acadie. Elle a joué au théâtre un peu partout en Acadie, en Louisiane, au Maine, à Saint- Pierre-et-Miquelon, au Québec et en Allemagne. On l’a retrouvé aussi à la télé de Radio-Canada dans la série Le ClanAnika signe la direction artistique, l’écriture et la mise en scène des nouveaux récits bilingues au Lieu historique national de Grand-Pré. Elle co-dirige le Théâtre Alacenne depuis 2003. Elle est jeune ambassadrice de la francophonie des Amériques s’étant rendue à New York, en Louisiane, au Maine et au Costa Rica à quelques reprises. Ayant vécu à l’étranger, et plus précisément en Europe de l’Est, elle se passionne des histoires du monde.

Lien du Théâtre Alacenne et d‘Expérience Grand-Pré.

 

 

Le blogue d’artsnb donne la parole aux artistes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Avez-vous reçu une subvention d’artsnb ? Avez-vous envie de partager votre expérience ? Alors contactez-nous sans plus attendre !