Skip to Content

A familiar thread – Marjolaine Bourgeois

 

September 14, 2018

A familiar thread - Marjolaine Bourgeois(This article has been translated from the original in French).

I, Marjolaine Bourgeois, am a visual artist from the Magdalen Islands and I live in Moncton, New Brunswick. In 1980, I graduated in printmaking and photography from the Department of Visual Arts at the Université de Moncton. For many years, I have worked with a number of textile techniques. My workshop is located at the Aberdeen Cultural Center in Moncton and I am a member of the Imago Print Studio.

My recent practice combines the printed image with textile techniques. I am interested in these two techniques as much for their aesthetic qualities as for their symbolism and their familiarity. Using both experimentation and traditional techniques, spontaneity and meditative gesture, I unmake to remake, I use the back as though it were the front, constantly seeking to reinterpret the forms and concepts of these two practices to which we are all intimately linked.

In 2017, I received a Career Development grant from artsnb to attend a one-month artist residency in July of the same year at Textílsetur in Blönduós, a seaside village in the north-west of Iceland… I immediately felt at home among these great landscapes with its thousands of birds, wide open skies, natural phenomena and breathtaking vistas. I was to stay with my peers from Germany, England, the United States, the Netherlands, Sweden, Finland and Australia, in a former convent equipped with looms and sewing, dyeing and embroidery workshops. I was in familiar territory, having worked with my mother, grandmother and aunts during my childhood. I was looking for a familiar thread that could have existed between the large island-country that is Iceland and the small island-archipelago in the Gulf of St. Lawrence where I was born, the Magdalen Islands.

I planned to create one or two artist’s books made of fabrics, inspired by my past experiences and by the discoveries I was about to make. So, I brought in my suitcase a few items, chosen more or less at random: remnants of clothing from my childhood, pictures of those same remnants and details of works I had created a few years earlier, a decorator’s fabric sample book, as well as a large piece of found linen. In search of a familiar thread, I would of course bring embroidery thread, scissors, a thimble and needles. I immediately became interested in the beautiful project of an Icelandic woman, who has been working for several years already on an Icelandic saga embroidered on a very large format, with the help of resident apprentices. We were thrilled to be able to participate. Right away I gained a taste for embroidery.

I would assemble the remnants of clothing from my childhood to create a garment-work that I would later embroider or “floss” in herringbone stitch, the way my grandmother and my mother did. This garment-work acted as an “open book” on my family’s past, revealing my family memories on the Magdalen Islands through each remnant of fabric. I later created a book-satchel as an accessory to this work. I recycled images of my past works and transferred them to linen, then embroidered them. I also made a binding for these using the cover of the decorator’s sample book and created the handle with embroidery thread. July 19 saw the inauguration of “Soft Stories”, an exhibition of our research, in a gallery near the residency.

Brightness being present all night in July in Iceland, I started reading the book Eccentric Islands, written by the Icelandic American poet Bill Holm. Six days before my return, a colleague gave me some “paper yarn” she did not want anymore. I was fascinated by reading this beautiful book and, at the same time, by this paper that I could knit or weave. I began ironing the paper yarn to enlarge it and to transcribe my reading notes. Next I would knit them… Inspiration was flowing…

Since my return, I remain interested in embroidery. Combining this craft with printmaking, I am experimenting with new imageries and techniques. I realize how much my stay in Blönduós in Iceland has been beneficial to my artistic practice. I would like to thank artsnb for its support and for making this project possible.

 

Marjolaine Bourgeois - BioBorn in the Magdalen Islands, Marjolaine Bourgeois lives in Moncton, New Brunswick. In 1980, she graduated in printmaking and photography from the Department of Visual Arts at the Université de Moncton. She has been practicing textile techniques for many years. Since 2011, her approach mainly combines printmaking and textiles. Her studio is located at the Aberdeen Cultural Center in Moncton and she is a member of the Imago Print Studio. She has participated in several events, as well as solo and group exhibitions: among others, at the International Symposium of Contemporary Art in Baie-Saint-Paul, QC (2013); at the International Triennial of Textile Arts in Outaouais, QC (2016); and at a creative residency in Textílsetur, Blönduós, in Iceland (July 2017). In October 2018, she will participate in a creative residency at CanSerrat in El Bruc, in Spain. Her work is part of several private collections as well as the New Brunswick Art Bank, the MACBSP (Museum of Contemporary Art of Baie-Saint-Paul) and the Galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen.

You can follow Marjolaine’s work on her website.

 

The artsnb blog gives a voice to New Brunswick artists. Have you received a grant from artsnb? Are you interested in sharing your artistic experience? Then please contact us now!

Skip to Content

Un fil familier – Marjolaine Bourgeois

 

le 14 septembre 2018

Un fil familier - Marjolaine Bourgeois

Je me présente, Marjolaine Bourgeois, artiste visuelle, originaire des Iles-de-la-Madeleine et vivant à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick. En 1980, je graduais en estampe et photographie du Département des arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton. Pendant plusieurs années, j’ai pratiqué plusieurs techniques du textile. Mon atelier est situé au Centre Culturel Aberdeen à Moncton et je suis membre de l’Atelier d’estampe Imago.

Ma pratique récente allie l’image imprimée aux techniques du textile. Je m’intéresse à ces deux techniques autant pour leurs qualités esthétiques que pour leur symbolisme et leur familiarité. Utilisant à la fois expérimentation et techniques traditionnelles, spontanéité et geste méditatif, je défais pour refaire, j’utilise l’envers comme étant l’endroit, en cherchant constamment à réinterpréter les formes et les concepts de ces deux pratiques auxquelles nous sommes tous intimement liés.

En 2017, je recevais une bourse de Développement de Carrière d’artsnb pour assister, en juillet de la même année, à une résidence d’artiste d’une durée d’un mois, à Textílsetur à Blönduós, un village de bord de mer au nord-ouest de l’Islande… Je me suis tout de suite sentie à l’aise dans ces paysages grandioses avec ses milliers d’oiseaux, ses ciels de plus de 180 degrés, ses phénomènes naturels et ses panoramas qui ne cessent de vous époustoufler. J’allais loger avec mes collègues de l’Allemagne, de l’Angleterre, des États Unis, des-Pays Bas, de la Suède, de la Finlande et de l’Australie, dans un ancien couvent outillé de métiers à tisser, d’ateliers de couture, de teinture et de broderie. J’étais en territoire familier, ayant côtoyé durant mon enfance, ces métiers pratiqués par ma mère, ma grand-mère et mes tantes. J’étais à la recherche d’un fil familier qui aurait pu exister entre cette grande île-pays qui est l’Islande et la petite île-archipel du golfe St-Laurent ou je suis née, les-Îles-de-la Madeleine.

J’avais comme objectif de réaliser un ou deux livres d’artiste faits de tissus, inspirés de mes expériences passées et des découvertes que j’étais sur le point de faire. J’apportais donc dans mes bagages, des éléments choisis un peu au hasard : des coupons de tissus de vêtements de mon enfance, des images de ces mêmes coupons et de détails d’œuvres créées quelques années plus tôt, un livre d’échantillons de tissus de décorateur ainsi qu’un grand morceau de lin trouvé. À la recherche d’un fil familier, j’allais bien sûr apporter du fil à broder, des ciseaux, un dé et des aiguilles. Je me suis immédiatement intéressée au magnifique projet d’une Islandaise, qui œuvre déjà depuis de nombreuses années, à broder, sur un très grand format, une saga islandaise avec l’aide d’apprentis résidents. On se trouvait bien choyées de pouvoir y participer. J’ai tout de suite pris goût à la broderie.

J’allais assembler les coupons de tissus de vêtements de mon enfance pour en faire une œuvre-vêtement que j’allais par la suite broder ou « flâser » au point de chevron, à la manière dont le faisaient ma grand-mère et ma mère. Cette œuvre-vêtement agissait en quelque sorte comme un « livre ouvert » sur le passé de ma famille, dévoilant à travers chacun de ses coupons de tissu mes souvenirs familiaux aux îles de la Madeleine. J’allais par la suite, comme accessoire à cette œuvre, confectionner un livre-sacoche. Recyclant des images de mes œuvres passées et en les transférant sur du lin, je les ai ensuite brodées. J’ai fabriqué une reliure pour celles-ci avec le couvert du livre d’échantillons de décorateur pour ensuite confectionner sa poignée avec du fil à broder. Le 19 juillet avait lieu l’inauguration de « Soft Stories », une installation de nos recherches, dans une galerie à proximité de la résidence.

La clarté étant présente toute la nuit au mois de juillet en Islande, j’entrepris la lecture du livre Eccentric Islands, écrit par le poète américano-islandais Bill Holm. Six jours avant mon retour une collègue m’offrait du « fil de papier » qu’elle ne voulait plus. J’étais fascinée par la lecture de ce magnifique livre et en même temps, par ce papier que je pourrais tricoter ou tisser. Je me suis mise à repasser au fer le fil de papier afin de l’élargir et d’y transcrire les notes de ma lecture. J’allais ensuite les tricoter… L’inspiration coulait à flots…

Depuis mon retour, je m’intéresse toujours à la broderie. Alliant celle-ci à l’estampe, j’expérimente avec de nouvelles imageries et techniques. Je me rends compte à quel point mon séjour à Blönduós en Islande a été bénéfique à ma pratique artistique. Je tiens à dire un gros merci à artsnb pour son appui et pour avoir rendu possible ce projet.

 

Marjolaine Bourgeois - BioNative des Îles de la Madeleine, Marjolaine Bourgeois vit à Moncton au Nouveau-Brunswick. En 1980, elle graduait en estampe et photographie du département des arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton. Pendant plusieurs années, elle a pratiqué les techniques du textile. Depuis 2011, sa démarche allie principalement l’estampe et les textiles. Son atelier est situé au Centre Culturel Aberdeen à Moncton et elle est membre de l’Atelier d’estampe Imago. Elle a participé à plusieurs évènements et expositions individuels et de groupe : entre autres, en 2013, au Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul,QC, en 2016, à la Triennale internationale des arts textiles en Outaouais, QC, en juillet 2017, à une résidence de création à Textílsetur, à Blönduós en Islande et en octobre 2018, elle participera à une résidence de création à CanSerrat à El Bruc en Espagne. Son travail fait partie de plusieurs collections privées ainsi que de la Banque d˙oeuvres d˙art du NB, du MACBSP (Musée d˙art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul) ainsi que de la Galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen.

Vous pouvez suivre le travail de Marjolaine sur son site Internet.

 

Le blogue d’artsnb donne la parole aux artistes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Avez-vous reçu une subvention d’artsnb ? Avez-vous envie de partager votre expérience ? Alors contactez-nous sans plus attendre !