Skip to Content

Belle-Île-en-Mer, a Breton and Acadian Island – Phil Comeau

 

April 20, 2018

(This article has been translated from the original in French).

pcomeau_posterWhen I was young, I was rebellious. At 13, my dad gave me his 8mm camera, and that probably saved my life because cinema immediately became a passion. Shooting videos to better express my feelings was a revelation for me, as well as a new freedom. Then came my first amateur movies (all bad!), shot with my friends. In high school, I wanted to seduce my fellow students to this beautiful artistic medium, so I founded two clubs, one in theater and the other in video, and we made productions. But until then, this hobby was just a distraction. I did not see how I could live on cinema.

While I was studying drama at the Université de Moncton, the stars aligned. The National Film Board of Canada opened a studio in Moncton, encouraging the training of young Acadian filmmakers. I wrote and directed my first fiction film LA CABANE (1977), a film about the conflict of generations, to exorcise my adolescent discomfort. This film was followed the next year by another fiction film called THE GOSSIPS (Les gossipeuses, 1978), which is a comedy about gossip that I wrote and directed while thinking about my funny aunts. The public loved this film and still today, it is a cult film in Acadie. Students mute the volume and imitate the dialogue track and accents while watching the film. Since these first two NFB productions, I have shot a hundred projects in fiction and documentary. Some movies were easy to shoot, others were nightmares, but through each experience, I grew and gained experience as a filmmaker.

pcomeau_belleile4My recent film BELLE-ÎLE-EN-MER, A BRETON AND ACADIAN ISLAND is a documentary film that I wanted to do so much that I was ready to pay for it out of pocket if I could not find funding. Indeed, no traditional funder or television network wanted to take part in the project. But I refused to give up. I was convinced that there was a beautiful subject here, charming characters and an environment of sublime beauty. While I didn’t realize it at the time, this lack of funding from conventional networks would in fact be a blessing. I was going to make this film the way I wanted, with an artistic freedom that did not need to meet the standard rules of TV networks.

Fascinated by the Acadians who live in Belle-Île-en-Mer, an island in Brittany, France that I had visited a few times, I wrote my script in lyrical form, like a long love poem. Inspired by these people, I wanted to pay tribute to the courage of their Acadian refugee ancestors who had settled there. For me, this is a miracle of survival and their resilience, a remarkable human value. The inhabitants of Belle-Île have maintained their attachment to our Acadie, despite a separation of two and a half centuries and a distance of five thousand kilometers between our two coasts.

pcomeau_tintamarreOnce the script was ready, I submitted it to artsnb through their Creation program, and crossed my fingers. And the answer was positive! It allowed me to hire a good film crew. I shot the film during the commemoration of the 250th anniversary of the arrival of the Acadians in Belle-Île, while a group of Acadians from New Brunswick was visiting. All the characters of the film played along with pleasure. After filming, I received funding from the National Film Board of Canada’s Independent Filmmaker Assistance Program (ACIC), which allowed me to hire a good post-production team. The film features sensitive editing by Julien Cadieux (originally from Shediac), an ingenious sound concept by Serge Arsenault (originally from Bathurst), and a breathtaking musical score by Frédéric Chiasson (originally from Lamèque Island). The film finally only cost $7,000 out of my own pocket.

pcomeau_belleile5A series of surprises would follow. At the World Premiere of the film at the 30th International Festival of Francophone Cinéma in Acadie (FICFA) in Moncton, the film got its first award. The film then went on to win another 20 awards at other festivals, making it a record for a New Brunswick film. And ironically, TV networks, which had refused to finance the project, bought the film for broadcasts! Radio-Canada broadcast it in Canada and the international network TV5 Monde translated it into 10 languages, and broadcast the film in 151 countries!

I always say “Never give up”! For every project, funding is crucial, but over the years, I have learned that when a film project does not get all the funding you want, you should not be discouraged. You can adapt your project by making it more inventive, more artistic, more touching and with endearing characters. A personal film is always better appreciated by the public anyway.

I am currently finishing the post-production of VAGUE D’ACADIE, a film on the Acadian music artists who are making a name in the French North America and French Europe. There are so many good film subjects here in New Brunswick that have not been filmed yet, that the challenge for me is always to see which of the film ideas joggling in my head is the one that is the most urgent for me to write and direct. For me, shooting a film is as visceral as needing oxygen.

Phil Comeau

List of the 23 awards received by BELLE-ÎLE-EN-MER, A BRETON AND ACADIAN ISLAND

Europe (3)

Best Short Documentary Film – ARFF (Paris, France)
Best Documentary – Largo Film Awards (Lausanne, Switzerland)
Best Documentary – ShortCut Cinefest (Bucharest, Romania)

Asia (2)

Diamond Award, Best Foreign Language Documentary – Directors Awards (Bali, Indonesia)
Special Jury Award – Formosa Festival of Int. Filmmaker Awards (Taichung, Taiwan)

South America (2)

Best Documentary Short Film – 7th South Cinematographic Academy Film & Arts (Rancagua, Chile)
Best Cinematography in a Short Film – 7th South Cinematographic Academy Film & Arts (Rancagua, Chile)

North America (16)

Best Acadian Short Film, FICFA (Moncton, NB)
Platinum Remi Award, Cultural Category – WorldFest (Houston, TX)
Award of Excellence, Best International Shorts – Canada Shorts Film Festival (Toronto, ON)
Award of Merit, Documentary Short Film – Best Shorts Competition (San Diego, CA)
Award of Merit, Direction – Best Shorts Competition (San Diego, CA)
Award of Merit, Script/Writer – Best Shorts Competition (San Diego, CA)
Special Jury Mention – Cinema on the Bayou Film Festival (Lafayette, LA)
Honorable Mention – Headline International Film Festival (Vancouver, BC)
8 Awards of Excellence for Best Short Documentary, Director, Screenplay, Producer, Cinematographer, Sound Design, Soundtrack, Editor – Southern Shorts Awards (Roswell, GA)

List of the 22 other official selections

Europe and Middle East (13)

Moscow Shorts International film Festival (Russia), Barcelona Planet Film Festival (Spain), International Short Film Festival Beverin (Belgium), Gold Movie Awards Goddess Nike (London, England), Feel The Reel International Film Festival (Glasgow, Scotland), Bucharest ShortCut CineFest (Bucharest, Romania), Short to the Point (Bucharest, Romania), Woodengate Film Festival (Baia Mare, Romania), Festival insulaire de l’île de Groix (France), Les Nuits Cajun (Saulieu, France), Festival 24 images seconde (Florac, France), Festival CineFil (Lorient, France), Near Nazareth (Israel).

North and South America (9)

Los Angeles Independant Film Festival (Los Angeles, CA), Fondecoin Independant International Short Film Festival (Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela), Ficmarc Carribbean Sea International Film Festival (Pampatar, Venezuela), Oaxaca FilmFest (Oaxaca, Mexico), Rendez Vous Québec Cinéma (Montreal, QC), Festival de cinéma de la ville de Québec (Québec, QC), Atlantic International Film Festival (Halifax, NS), Charlottetown Film Festival (PE), Silver Wave Film Festival (Frederiction, NB).

Phil Comeau - BioAcadian director and screenwriter from Moncton, Phil Comeau has produced more than a hundred fiction and documentary films. His films include standalone films and series. He has also shot three documentary feature films SECRETARIAT’S JOCKEY, RON TURCOTTE (Ron Turcotte jockey légendaire), THE NATURE OF FREDERIC BACK (Frédéric Back grandeur nature), ZACHARY RICHARD CAJUN HEART (Zachary Richard toujours batailleur), an Acadian feature fiction film JEROME’S SECRET (Le secret de Jérôme) and two feature television films: CRASH OF THE CENTURY (Le crash du siècle) in co-production with France, and TEEN KNIGHT with the United States. Phil’s films have won more than 70 awards at festivals in North America, Europe, Asia and Africa. Broadcast on more than 75 TV networks in some 200 countries to date, many of his films have been translated into several languages. For his contribution in creating and promoting Acadian and Canadian cinema, Phil has received the Order of Canada, the Order of New Brunswick, l’Ordre des francophones d’Amérique, the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French government and the Order of La Pléiade by the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF). Globetrotter, Phil has visited 50 countries and has directed films in Canada and 23 other countries. He is the President of the Front des réalisateurs indépendants du Canada (FRIC).

 

The artsnb blog gives a voice to New Brunswick artists. Have you received a grant from artsnb? Are you interested in sharing your artistic experience? Then please contact us now!

Skip to Content

Belle-Île-En-Mer, île bretonne et acadienne – Phil Comeau

 

le 20 avril 2018

pcomeau_posterJeune, j’étais rebelle. À 13 ans, mon père m’a donné une caméra 8mm, et ça m’a probablement sauvé la vie car le cinéma est devenu une passion. Tourner des images pour mieux exprimer mes sentiments fut une révélation pour moi et une nouvelle liberté. Débutèrent alors mes premiers films amateurs (tous mauvais!) avec mes amis. À mon école secondaire, j’ai voulu séduire mes co-écoliers à ce beau medium artistique, alors j’ai fondé deux clubs, un en théâtre et l’autre en vidéo, et nous faisions des productions. Mais, jusqu’à là, ce passe-temps n’était qu’une distraction. Je ne voyais pas comment je pourrais vivre du cinéma.

Lors de mes études en Arts dramatiques à l’Université de Moncton, les étoiles se sont alignées. L’Office national du film du Canada a ouvert un studio à Moncton et a encouragé la formation de jeunes cinéastes acadiens. J’ai écrit et réalisé mon premier film de fiction LA CABANE (1977), film sur le conflit des générations, pour exorciser mon malaise d’adolescent. Ce film fut suivi l’année suivante par un autre film de fiction LES GOSSIPEUSES (1978), qui est une comédie sur le commérage que j’ai écrit et réalisé en pensant à mes tantes drôles. Le public a beaucoup aimé ce film et encore aujourd’hui, il est un film culte en Acadie. Des étudiants enlèvent le volume et jouent les dialogues et les accents en visionnant le film. Depuis ces deux premières productions de l’ONF, j’ai tourné une centaine de projets en fiction et en documentaire. Certains films furent faciles à tourner, d’autres furent des cauchemars, mais à chaque expérience je grandis et acquiers de l’expérience comme cinéaste.

pcomeau_belleile4Le film BELLE-ÎLE-EN-MER, ÎLE BRETONNE ET ACADIENNE est un film documentaire que je voulais tellement faire que j’étais prêt à le payer de ma poche si je ne trouvais pas de financement. En effet, aucun bailleur de fonds traditionnel ou réseau de télévision ne voulait participer au projet. Mais j’ai refusé de laisser tomber les bras. J’étais convaincu qu’il y avait ici un beau sujet, de beaux personnages et un environnement d’une beauté sublime. Sans m’en rendre compte tout de suite, ce refus de financement des réseaux classiques allait être une bénédiction. J’allais faire ce film comme je le voulais, avec une liberté artistique n’ayant pas besoin de répondre aux normes standardisées des réseaux TV.

Fasciné par les Acadiens qui habitent Belle-Île-en-Mer, une île bretonne en France que j’avais visitée à quelques reprises, j’ai écrit mon scénario sous forme lyrique comme un long poème d’amour. Inspiré par ces habitants, je voulais faire un hommage au courage de leurs ancêtres réfugiés acadiens qui s’étaient installés ici. Pour moi, cela relève d’un miracle de survivance et d’une valeur humaine remarquable. Les habitants de Belle-Île ont conservé leur attachement à notre Acadie, malgré une séparation de deux siècles et demi et une distance de 5000 km entre nos deux côtes.

pcomeau_tintamarreLe scénario prêt, je l’ai déposé à artsnb, les doigts croisés. Et la réponse fut positive! Cela m’a permis de me rendre en France et de payer une bonne équipe de tournage. J’ai tourné le film pendant les Fêtes de commémoration du 250ème anniversaire de l’arrivée des Acadiens à Belle-Île pendant que visitait un groupe d’Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick. Tous les personnages du film se sont prêtés au jeu avec plaisir. Après le tournage, j’ai reçu un financement du programme d’aide au cinéma indépendant (ACIC) de l’Office national du film du Canada qui m’a permis de payer une bonne équipe de post-production. Le film comporte un montage sensible fait par Julien Cadieux (originaire de Shediac), un concept sonore ingénieux de Serge Arsenault (originaire de Bathurst), et une trame musicale époustouflante de Frédéric Chiasson (originaire de l’île de Lamèque). Le film ne m’a couté que 7 000 $ de ma poche.

pcomeau_belleile5Une série de surprises vont suivre. Lors de la Première mondiale du film au 30ème Festival International du cinéma francophone en Acadie (FICFA) à Moncton, le film acquiert son premier prix. Le film se mérite ensuite 20 prix à d’autres festivals, ce qui en fait le record pour un film du Nouveau-Brunswick. Et ironiquement, les réseaux de télévision, qui avaient refusé de financer le projet, achètent le film pour diffusion! Radio-Canada le diffuse au Canada et le réseau TV5 Monde, qui le traduit en 10 langues, diffuse le film dans 151 autres pays!

“Never give up”! Pour chaque projet, le financement est le nerf de la guerre. J’ai appris avec les années que quand un projet de film ne reçoit pas tout le financement souhaité, il ne faut pas se décourager. Il faut adapter son projet en le rendant plus inventif, plus artistique, plus touchant et avec des personnages attachants. De toute façon, un film personnel est toujours mieux apprécié par le public.

Je suis présentement à terminer la post-production de VAGUE D’ACADIE, sur les artistes acadiens en musique qui rayonnent dans la francophonie des Amériques et d’Europe. Il y a tellement de bons sujets de films ici au Nouveau-Brunswick qui n’ont pas encore été tournés, que le défi pour moi est toujours de voir lequel parmi les films qui dansent dans ma tête est celui qui me semble le plus urgent à écrire et réaliser. Pour moi, tourner des films est aussi viscéral qu’un besoin d’oxygène.

Phil Comeau

Liste des 23 prix du film Belle-île-en-mer, île bretonne et acadienne

Europe (3)

Meilleur court métrage documentaire – ARFF (Paris, France)
Meilleur documentaire – Largo Film Awards (Lausanne, Suisse)
Meilleur documentaire – ShortCut Cinefest (Bucarest, Roumanie)

Asie (2)

Prix Diamant, Meilleur documentaire en langue étrangère – Directors Awards (Bali, Indonésie)
Mention spéciale du jury – Formosa Festival of Int. Filmmaker Awards (Taichung, Taiwan)

Amérique du sud (2)

Meilleur court métrage documentaire – 7e South Cinematographic Academy Film & Arts (Rancagua, Chili)
Meilleur photo court métrage – 7e South Cinematographic Academy Film & Arts (Rancagua, Chili)

Amérique du nord (16)

Meilleur court métrage acadien, FICFA (Moncton, N-.B.)
Prix Platinum Remi, catégorie culturelle – WorldFest (Houston, Texas)
Prix de mérite – Canada Shorts Film Festival (Toronto, Ontario)
Prix d’excellence, Documentaire – Best Shorts Competition (San Diego, Californie)
Prix de mérite, Réalisation – Best Shorts Competition (San Diego, Californie)
Prix de mérite, Scénario – Best Shorts Competition (San Diego, Californie)
Mention spéciale du jury – Festival Cinema on the Bayou (Lafayette, Louisiane)
Mention honorable – Headline International Film Festival (Vancouver, C.-B.)
8 Prix d’excellence, pour Meilleur court documentaire, réalisateur, scénario, producteur, photo, son, musique, montage. – Southern Shorts Awards (Roswell, Géorgie)

Liste des 22 autres Sélections officielles

Europe et Moyen Orient (13)

Moscow Shorts International Film Festival (Russie), Barcelona Planet Film Festival (Espagne), International Short Film Festival Beverin (Belgique),  Gold Movie Awards Godess Nike (Londres, Angleterre), Feel The Reel International Film Festival (Glasgow, Écosse), Bucharest ShortCut CineFest (Bucarest, Roumanie), Short to the Point (Bucarest, Romanie), Woodengate Film Festival (Baia Mare, Roumanie), Festival insulaire de l’île de Groix (France), Les Nuits Cajun (Saulieu, France), Festival 24 images seconde (Florac, France), Festival CineFil (Lorient, France), Near Nazareth (Israël).

Amérique du nord et Amérique du sud (9)

Los Angeles Independant Film Festival (Los Angeles, Californie), Fondecoin Independant International Short Film Festival (Puerto La Cruz, Venezuela), Ficmarc Carribbean Sea International Film Festival (Pampatar, Venezuela), Oaxaca FilmFest (Oaxaca, Mexique), Rendez Vous Québec Cinéma (Montréal, Québec), Festival de cinéma de la ville de Québec (Québec), Atlantic International Film Festival (Halifax, N.-É.), Charlottetown Film Festival (Î.-P.-É.), Silver Wave Film Festival (Frederiction, N.-B.).

Phil Comeau - BioRéalisateur et scénariste acadien de Moncton, Phil Comeau a réalisé plus d’une centaine de films en fiction et en documentaire. Ses films incluent des films uniques et des séries. Il a aussi tourné trois longs-métrages documentaires (RON TURCOTTE JOCKEY LEGENDAIRE, FREDERIC BACK GRANDEUR NATURE, et ZACHARY RICHARD TOUJOURS BATAILLEUR), un long métrage en fiction acadienne (LE SECRET DE JEROME) et deux longs téléfilms fictions en coproduction avec la France (LE CRASH DU SIECLE) et avec les États-Unis (TEEN KNIGHT). Les films de Phil se sont mérités plus de 70 prix aux festivals en Amérique du nord, en Europe, en Asie et en Afrique. Diffusés sur plus de 75 réseaux TV à travers le monde, plusieurs de ses films ont été traduits en de nombreuses langues. Pour sa contribution au rayonnement du cinéma acadien et canadien, Phil a reçu l’Ordre du Canada, l’Ordre du Nouveau-Brunswick, l’Ordre des francophones d’Amérique, l’Ordre des arts et des lettres de la France et l’Ordre de la Pléiade. Globetrotter, Phil a visité une cinquantaine de pays et il a réalisé des films au Canada et dans 23 pays. Il est le président du Front des réalisateurs indépendants du Canada (FRIC).

 

Le blogue d’artsnb donne la parole aux artistes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Avez-vous reçu une subvention d’artsnb ? Avez-vous envie de partager votre expérience ? Alors contactez-nous sans plus attendre !